Abstract Paintings in Colour- new works

Abstract ink Painting, Seascape. Emily Boylan

Abstract ink Painting, Seascape 1, detail. Emily Boylan, 2014

waves 3

Abstract ink Painting, Seascape 2, detail. Emily Boylan, 2014

seasky2

Abstract ink Painting, Seascape. Emily Boylan, 2014

I have been wanting to make more abstract paintings for a while now. I started off with black and white, as I have a certain level of comfort there, but soon began having ideas for colour. I was inspired the the kind of palette you get by the sea at night when it is all lit up. I think I may have been partially inspired by staying in Crystal Cove, a seaside town near Boston. You could see the lights of Boston City across the harbour in the afternoon. There was something very magical about the experience. I took about 200 photographs of the harbour, so I may try to paint from some of those, but these are more about the feeling and experience of lights by the coast.

Etsy Link Seascape 1  

Etsy Link Seascape 2

Leave a comment