Storytelling Pendants

I’ve become a little bit obsessed with making jewellery! It started with my birdhouse pendants, and now I’ve gotten a little more artistic with these mini drawings. I got some really sweet little oval birch pieces, which inspired me to look back at my oval paintings, which proved popular in my shop last year. To start with, I’ve tried a quill design, a small house and hills, and of course an owl.

Little House Pendant

Little House Pendant

I decided to design a little card insert to go with the boxes for these, so I went with a simple black and white tree illustration. I feel like it helps place the pendant in the world of my drawing, which is of course where they are coming from.

littlehouse 3 quill neck 3

owl neck1

I went with silver plated chains and findings for these pendants, as for me it compliments the birch wood and the rich black ink. I finished them with a rich glaze which has an almost glassy appearance. I think it makes them that bit more modern and contemporary, in contrast with my illustration style which is a little retro. The house in particular owes something to a 1950s style book cover.

Anyway, I hope everyone is having a nice new year.

Etsy links here to the Owl Pendant, Little House Pendant and Quill Pendant

6 thoughts on “Storytelling Pendants

      • I was excited to see it in Dublin actually, it has only filtered in to our shops recently, started with the basic sort in a jewellery supply store, now all the craft shops have fancy selections with different finishes, and transfer paste for fabric wood etc too!

  1. Oh my gosh. These are so adorable! What a fabulous idea. I LOVE the quill so much. You’re right about the retro/modern mix. It works so well and looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

