Winter Paintings… Ski Lifts and Old Fashioned Wooden Trains on Snowy Hills

Ski Lifts in the Snow Painting, Emily Boylan, 2014

Ski Lifts in the Snow Painting, Emily Boylan, 2014

The colder weather is finally biting here in Dublin! In between some home improvements I have been continuing to paint when I have the chance. I have set up a new desk area by my window, so I’m all set to look out at the snowy balcony should the occasion come. We already have a robin who likes to visit, and appreciates some nuts to help him brave the winter.

After a more realistic winter painting last time, I’m back into a little bit of fantasy with this Ski Lifts in the Snow painting. I have ridden in cable cars up into the Swiss Alps, (an amazing experience) so it is not 100% fictional. However, I had a hot chicken dinner and a tasty Swiss beer at the top and then rode the cable car back down, so no skiing for me I’m afraid!

I do love the romance of the idea of a skiing holiday. Christmas movies in general are an absolute favourite for me. I loved ‘The Christmas Shepherd’ with Teri Polo, which I just watched recently (Christmas cheer plus a gorgeous German Shepherd Dog for good measure). Anyway, I hope everyone else out there is getting into the spirit of the season too!

Emily

cable cars2 cablecars3

Original Painting on Etsy

One thought on “Winter Paintings… Ski Lifts and Old Fashioned Wooden Trains on Snowy Hills

Leave a Reply

