Red Cardinal Bird Art Pendant

Red Cardinal Art Pendant by Emily Boylan

Red Cardinal Art Pendant by Emily Boylan

redcard4redcard2redcard3

Happy 2015 everyone!

I have been working on some jewellery over the holidays. I had wanted to make jewellery for some time, but was quite nervous to take my first steps until I had the right idea. First, I had to select the right materials, and then think of the right designs. I have opted for birch wood, painted, and brass chains with an antique copper effect.

I made this pendant by screwing in a copper hook into shaped birch wood, painting in acrylics, adding detail with ink, then sealing with several coats of gloss sealer. I like the contrast of the colour against the wood, as well as the black ink over the bright red.

I have been very much enjoying the world of jewellery design, and also experimenting with gold leaf and silver findings too. I hope to feature more updates in the future weeks.

The design I am sharing today is the Red Cardinal Bird Pendant, available here on etsy.

Leave a comment